Venla bemutatkozik / introducing

Venla Kataja fotoHi! My name is Venla Kataja
and I’m a new volunteer here in Szajol.

I’m from a small village called Simpele. It’s located near Russian boarder in southeast Finland. Simpele is about same size as Szajol so I’m used to live in a small place. I’m 18 years old and graduated from high-school this spring. I don’t know what I want to study or be in the future. Maybe this experience clarifies my thoughts. My family consist of my mother, father, brother and sisters and, last but not least, three cats. My brother is 28, older sister is 29 and younger is 14. We also have some chickens.

 

 

And now about what I’m interested in. I love all kind of music from classic to rock and music has always got a place in my heart. I have played piano since I was 7 years old and graduated from music institute this year majoring piano.I like to go to different concerts and festivals to enjoy the feeling and music alone or with my friends. I already went to Sziget festival in Budapest to see one of my favourite bands.

I also love to travel and find new places and get to know new people. I’m interested in all kind of cultural elements especially history and arts. In my opinion when you know about country’s history and culture, you can understand more about people and what’s happening around you. I can’t wait to get to know Hungary’s culture at close quarters. Along with these I like reading, cooking and sports.

It has been wonderful experience so far and I know I’m going to enjoy my stay here a lot! I’m waiting for all new eagerly and can’t wait to learn more about Hungary. I’ll be so much richer with new experiences and connections when I return back home.

J